Stop the pigeon!

When I was a kid, I used to love this cartoon. Dick Dastardly and Muttley, his long-suffering dog with the funny laugh. We used to run home from school to watch it, along with our other favourite TV shows.

I was reminded of this programme this morning, when I found two huge pigeons on my terrace looking menacingly at my herb seedlings, which are sprouting nicely in the boxes that I planted a couple of weeks ago. In the theme song for the show they sing ‘Stop the pigeon’. You can watch the video below and see for yourself! 🙂

I have come to love raising plants over the past few years, although I still don’t have enough flowers outside my home. Back in the UK, my parents always had a lovely garden and spent hours outside nurturing their plants, trees and flowers of many different colours. They know everything about gardening and have very ‘green fingers‘, but I am still a novice and so I got a great thrill when the seeds I planted started sprouting out of the soil, little green leaves pushing their way upwards towards the sunshine.

As you know, I love cooking, so I decided to try and grow loads of herbs, and I especially wanted to grow coriander, as it is often difficult to find in Japan, and I love making Indian and Thai food, for example. Other herbs that I am growing include oregano and tarragon, and I am also growing roquette and dandelion leaves for salads throughout the late spring and early summer. There was no way I was going to let those two big pigeons near my precious little green shoots.

little green shoots pushing their way out of the soil towards the sunlight

little green shoots pushing their way out of the soil towards the sunlight

I will let you know how I get on with the herbs, and whether or not I need a scarecrow to deter the unwelcome guests from eating my green shoots and stop those bloody pigeons!

This entry was posted in honTony things and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

