sakura photo challenge

It’s been nearly two weeks since my last post, and I apologise for that!

My parents came to Japan for nine days, and so, as I was off work between terms, I spent a lot of time out and about with them and the kids. It was the eighth or ninth time that they have been to this country but perhaps only the second time they have been here to witness the cherry blossom. A couple of weeks ago it seemed as though the blossom would be particularly early this year, but then the weather turned cold again, so even as I write the sakura has not reached its full bloom outside hontony mansion!

OK blog readers, I have a spring challenge for you. I am going to put some photos below and you have to decide where I took them. They all include some cherry blossom and they were all taken this week. And they were all taken from a 10 minute to an hour distance, or so, from my house here in Otori.

If anyone can tell me the location of all the photos, I will give them a special spring prize! Yippeee!

Photo A

Ten minutes by bicycle

Ten minutes by bicycle

Photo B

An hour or less south by Nankai train

An hour or less south by Nankai train

Photo C
Clue – burial grounds of former kings

Ten minutes by train

Ten minutes by train

Photo D

Fifty minutes south by JR train

Fifty minutes south by JR train

Photo E

Twenty-five minutes north by tram

Twenty-five minutes north by tram

Photo F

An hour or so east by Kintetsu

An hour or so east by Kintetsu

So, as I said earlier, the first person to tell me the six places will receive a special spring honTony prize! Good luck!

This entry was posted in culture, honTony things and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

