Five Xmas songs for you …

Hugo really loves that last song that I posted – “I‘m dreaming of a white Christmas“. He really likes it when the reindeer starts singing and santa has a funny little smile on his face. He keeps singing it all the time.

So, I was trying to think which were my favourite Xmas songs from when I was younger. I remembered a lot, but I have chosen 5 that remind me moments, places and people in my past.

Number 5 – Mel and Kim “Rocking around the Christmas tree”

Kim Wilde was a pop star in the 1980s and Mel Smith was half of a TV comedy duo whose programme, “Alas Smith and Jones“, was extremely popular around the same time. This version of the song was recorded to raise money for children’s charities.

This song was recorded in 1987, and It reminds me of the time just before I moved to London after I left university.

Enjoy this one – it’s a bit silly, but then again, most Xmas songs are!

Number 4 – Wham “Last Christmas”

This is quite a bitter love song and I can’t believe I am choosing a Wham track as one of my favourites, but isn’t just about the music, it’s about the memories. Xmas 1984, I had just left home to go to university and life was changing. But Christmas means I would have gone back home to see family and friends I hadn’t seen for a few months. This song reminds me of all that.

And look at those haircuts! Did George Michael model his style on Princess Diana or did she copy him?

Number 3 – Slade “Merry Xmas Everybody”

This song came out when I was first getting into music, and, to this day, it is played endlessly on the radio and TV, pubs, bars and parties every year in the run up to Xmas. It is a classic Xmas song back home in the UK and one that reminds me of so many great festive moments. The guy presenting the TV programme dressed as Father Xmas is called Jimmy Saville, and reminds me of my old granddad, who passed away a couple of years ago.

Number 2 – The Pogues and Kirsty MacColl “Fairytale of New York”

This is officially Britain’s favourite Xmas song. There was a competition a few years ago when members of the public voted to choose their favourite, and this was top. It is a song about lost love and a couple who drink too much and spend a lot of time fighting, and all the lost opportunities and faded dreams that life brings us! Not really the typical topic for a Xmas song, but it clearly resonates with people. Maybe it is that feeling of hope that Xmas brings us all, that things will get better.

Number 1 – John Lennon “Happy Xmas, War is Over

John Lennon was always my favourite Beatle, and to this day I clearly remember listening to the radio news early one morning and hearing that he had been shot. I know he had a dark side to his character, but some of his ideals coincided with my own. It seemed incredibly ironic that such a peace obsessed man had been killed in such a violent way. The images in this video will make you cry. The message of Xmas of “Goodwill to all men” is clearly ignored all around the world, and when you see the suffering of tiny, helpless children, well … it is heartbreaking. Let’s hope for a brighter future in 2009.

In this full-length video, John Lennon echoes my own views that our political leaders are insane. Let’s hope that Barrack Obama will prove that theory wrong. He also talks about what is important in life for him, not money or rock ‘n roll, but love and peace. Is there anything wrong with that? Oh well, here are John and Yoko and the full version of the video.

This entry was posted in culture, honTony things and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Xmas songs for you …

  1. Pingback: Hot Christmas Online » Blog Archive » Five Xmas songs for you … « honTony

  2. Ari says:

    Merry Christmas, Tony!

    How wonderful this topic!
    I could enjoy 5 songs and it was first time to listen for “Fairytale of New York” for me.
    I think most Christmas song are romantic but when I listen some Christmas song and my heart fills up with gratitude and sadness sometime.
    Is it Christmas power??

    Anyway Will you give your loves Christmas presents?

    Have a wonderful Christmas!

Leave a Reply

