Wisdom of a child … part 4

A few weeks ago, as some of you will remember, I took the kids to the school summer beer garden party. My wife couldn’t come because Sunday is usually her busiest day at work. Around 8 o’clock Hugo told me he wanted to go home. He said he was tired, but I think he wanted to see his mama! 🙂

As the three of us were getting off the train in Otori, Hugo said to me in a sleepy, sad voice, “Papa, my chest hurts. It hurts a lot.”

“Really Hugo? What’s the matter?” I asked suspiciously, a bit worried, thinking perhaps he wanted me to give him a cuddle and carry him all the way home – the usual trick!

“I dunno papa, but maybe my heart is too big because it is so full of love for mama. Maybe that is why my chest hurts papa.”

My lovely son had nearly made me cry again with his words, so I picked the big boy up anyway and carried him home from the station, to see his waiting mama. Meanwhile, Irie slept quietly in the baby-car. 🙂

This entry was posted in honTony things and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wisdom of a child … part 4

  1. Mrs Davies says:

    Ahhhhhh… how sweet is that!! Hugo’s English must be awsome now. I am enjoying your blog with lovely cup of tea in the rainy English afternoon.

  2. tonybrace says:

    nice to know we have readers in the UK … please share your thoughts with us on life in britain anytime 🙂

  3. saorinnrinngo says:

    so so so sweet Hugo!!!
    “full of love for mama”
    Ahhhh・sweet!
    tell saorichan!?

    anyway,Im going to HOKURIKU today,good fresh fish…(~o~)

Leave a Reply

