The four seasons … which is your favourite?

Autumn is here, though sometimes it still seems like summer. Of course, the air is much fresher, not as humid as the long months of July, August and September. My birthday is in autumn, and back in the UK it was always cold and miserable around the beginning of November, but here in Japan, it is my favourite time of the year. The leaves on the trees are changing into beautiful shades of reds, yellows and oranges, and the temperature is pleasant.

Somewhere in Kyoto … but where?

I took these photos nearly 7 years ago when I went to Kyoto to visit a friend who lived there. We spent a beautiful sunny afternoon at the end of November walking around the city, to some of the less touristy places (my friend said). I have forgotten where I took the photos now – can any of you help?

If you know where these shots were taken, I would love to know. Thanks! 🙂

Somewhere in Kyoto (1)

Somewhere in Kyoto (1)

Somewhere in Kyoto (2)

Somewhere in Kyoto (2)

Somewhere in Kyoto (3)

Somewhere in Kyoto (3)

Also, as some of you may know, I am a great food lover – I love both cooking and eating and I feel Autumn is a much more interesting time for food that the summer. I am planning to head up to Yoshino to see a friend (and the glorious leaves) in the next few weeks, and hopefully this year I can make it up to the Sasayama area to enjoy some hot, steaming and delicious botan nabe.

What is your favourite season, and why?

While you think about this question, listen to the following piece of music. You may recognise the music, it is from Vivaldi’s four seasons, and the girl who is playing is Anne-Sophie Mutter

Vivaldi’s Four Seasons played by Anne-Sophie Mutter

You can now listen to six teachers from the Osaka British Council talking about which season they like best and why.

Matt

Matt

 
Sarah

Sarah

James B.

James B.

 
James C

James C

Mark

Mark

 
Johnny's friend

Johnny's friend

 

As you listen, decide which of the four seasons each person says they like most in Japan, and is this different from the season they like best in the UK?

What reasons do they give for their choice?

Comprehension task sheet plus transcripts (words spoken)

If you click on the link below you can download a document which has some comprehension questions and the transcripts of the teachers’ comments, so you can check your answers.

four-seasons-worksheet

Good luck and enjoy! 🙂

MATT
 
SARAH
 
JAMES B.
 
JAMES C.
 
MARK
 
JOHNNY
 
This entry was posted in language and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The four seasons … which is your favourite?

  1. Keiko says:

    Autumn is the best for me, the climate is mild and comfortable. I always feel relief hot and humid summer has gone.
    ( I don’t like summer!).

    And I’m foodie as well!
    It’s a harvest season in Japan, I am very happy we can enjoy a wide range of tasty crops in this season such as new rice, fruits.
    (especially I love “20th century” pears!)

    My home town is close to Sasayama-city, there are lots of tasty food there. You should try its “KUROMAME NO EDAMAME”, it’s very very delicious EDAMAME beans.

  2. tonybrace says:

    Hi Keiko

    Harvest season indeed – last week we had the danjiri in my town, and this weekend in Izumi area. I think the origin of danjiri is connected to harvest.

    I know kuromame – very oiishii!! 🙂 I have been up to Nose area camping, which is quite near. It is beautiful countryside up there, do your family still live near Sasayama?

    “A foodie” … this is excellent English, very natural!

    Thanks for ur comments

Leave a Reply

