A Picture Tells a 1000 words …

I am honTony amazed that there have now been (almost) 1000 hits on this blog in just 2 weeks – that is so great! πŸ™‚

I wanted to share something with you. I won’t write anything this time, just show you a picture of where I was lucky enough to grow up until I was 18: Pendle Hill, in Lancashire, and the surrounding countryside. This picture triggers so many memories for me, more than a 1000, and could have been taken from my aunt’s farm. Enjoy!

The beautiful countryside of my youth

The beautiful countryside of my youth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Picture Tells a 1000 words …

  1. nori says:

    What a beautiful place!
    Like this place makes me imaginative.

  2. TO says:

    Tony

    Congratulations on 1000 hits.
    Sooo beautiful landscape. You can be proud of your countryside. I’ve just flown to Pendle hill by google earth and I’m enjoying several pictures of other scenery around there. It’s quite different from that of Japan. I’ll never fail to visit Pendle hill when I go to U.K. I can easily imagine you must have had a wonderful life in the great country. What do farmers grow in the fields down there?
    You are an Englishman? Not a Welshman?

  3. tonybrace says:

    @Nori

    yeah! cheers nori … now that i live away from there i can realise how really beautiful it is … when i was a child … it was just my home and my playground … now maybe i think there is no more beautiful place in the whole world

    thanks for ur comment πŸ™‚

  4. tonybrace says:

    @TO

    I was born in the wonderful countryside of north wales … but i grew up from the age of 7 or 8 in the spectacular scenery that you can see on this photo … it is beautiful isn’t it?

    thanks for ur comment πŸ™‚

  5. Cheerleader Liz says:

    This scenery is awesome! It is like a picture from calendar. Mmmm…
    Maybe I can stare at this picture for hours with a cup of coffee πŸ™‚
    I like to be in city but occasionally need to escape to countryside.
    I go back to parents’ house when I feel like being surrounded by nature.

    And …. I wanna slide the beautiful hills with cardboard.
    Have you ever done that??

  6. tonybrace says:

    @ cheerleader

    thx for ur nice comments … it really is a lovely place … jrr tolkein who wrote lord of the rings used to live locally and it is thought he based much of the landscape of his stories on the area …

    never slid down the hills on cardboard … i never saw that till i came to japan … but we used to make sledges in the winter to slide on the snow … and we used to cycle to the top of that hill and ride back down very quickly … many memories indeed …

    that hill is called PENDLE HILL and it is very famous in the UK for witches

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pendle_Hill

    maybe i will write more about this wonderful place soon

  7. Pingback: a walk along the beach « honTony

  8. maria says:

    Tonyyyyyy, I will come to read your blog very often, now…….. Love it !!!!!! could never imagine that you came from and belong to such a calm, peaceful, marvellous place !!!!!! Lucky you, Tony !!!! xx

  9. Saki says:

    Hello, Tony! I am Saki from your class.
    First, I was surprised that you changed the top picture of your blog! very nice and Japanesy pic! I like it!
    And what a beautiful county you used to live!
    Amazing endless farm…I want to visit it!

  10. tonybrace says:

    hi saki … thanks for ur comment … the photo of the plum tree is taken near my house … on monday i am thinking of tsking some more photos in hamadera area … as there are many wonderful old villas … yes … u are right … the countryside where i grew up is lovely … i do miss it sometimes … but japan is beautiful too isn’t it? there is beauty everywhere … πŸ™‚

    hi lolo … good to see u on the blog … hope u keep coming back and making comments … hope all’s well with u :^)

Leave a Reply

