London 2012

Many of you may be wondering what the banner on the wall in the public space represents. Well, it shows the logo for the London 2012 Summer Olympics, and celebrates the official hand-over as host city from Beijing to London at the end of the fantastically successful, in many ways, Beijing Olympics.

Controversial Logo for London 2012

Controversial Logo for London 2012

What do you think of the design? Personally, I like it. I think it looked great on the screen during the wonderful closing ceremony for the Beijing Olympics. Here is the video that was shown to the world to introduce London as the host city. Was that before or after Mr Beckham had kicked his ball into the crowd? That was funny. I thought a Japanese athlete caught the ball and she looked so happy. But a student told me yesterday that a Chinese volunteer worker took the ball back! Apparently, she said, “That’s Beckham’s ball! It’s ours!” Is that true? Wow! What a story! I heard also that Beckham is very very popular in China. Anyway, here is the London 2012 promotional video I mentioned.

The short video shown at the Beijing Olympics to introduce London as the next host city

Is that how you think of London? Obviously, the organisers are promoting London’s incredible mix of history and modernity, the traditional image alongside the 21st century picture of London today.

Maybe in this next video you can recognise more familiar faces and places. This video is designed to encourage people to get involved in sport, suggesting that anyone, everyone even, can achieve something and be a winner. Guess who appears in this video? And if DB can finish a crossword, that really does suggest that people can do anything if they put their minds to it. Do you believe that? I do!

Think about that question as you watch and enjoy the video. If you have any questions, please post them!

London 2012 promotional video

I was lucky to live in London for about 8 or 9 years, and that video brings back so many memories for me: the architecture, the parks – just the incredible mix of people and places. When I see London like that, I wish I could be there for an afternoon in the sunshine walking around the city. Living in Japan so far away, I often forget that London is where most of my friends live, but I can’t really tell you exactly what I miss about the city – just the feel of it. It has been 7 years since I moved to Japan, and I have only been back twice in that time. I wonder how much London has changed in that time. Watching the video, it seems very familiar, and so I feel a bit homesick. Of course, the video only shows the positive images of London. It is easy to forget that problems exist in London, too, and it would be foolish to think that London is like paradise on earth – it isn’t! But it holds many fantastic memories for me.

London 2012 – official website link

If you click here you can have a look at the official website for the London Olympics 2012. There are a few interactive things to enjoy!

Check out this cool video from the official site, which shows what the main Olympic Stadium will look like and how it will be constructed.

London 2012 Olympic Stadium

Do you know who this man is?

Well, he is the mayor of London. His name is Boris Johnson, but some of the newspapers call him BoJo. He won election to the office of mayor earlier this year. I should say that I don’t support his political party, actually I don’t support any political party really! He was present at the closing ceremony of the Beijing games to receive the hand-over of the Olympic flag from the mayor of Beijing and the Olympic president. After the event, he attended a hand-over party for the British team and officials. He made a speech which some people think is a bit insensitive. BoJo is well known in the UK for making “gaffes” (political mistakes), but I think this speech is quite entertaining. He talks about how Britain invented or wrote the rules for most of the world’s biggest sports (football and rugby, for example), but he also says that Britain invented ping-pong before the Chinese. He says that people used to play it on the dinner table after dinner, and that it was called “wiff-waff”. You can see the British officials behind him laughing. I wonder if he is joking. Maybe I should try “Googling” the word wiff-waff to see if I can find out more. Anyway, watch the video and see if you can catch the things I have mentioned.

Sport, including “wiff-waff”, is coming home!

This entry was posted in culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to London 2012

  1. kevinlucas says:

    http://www.vimeo.com/1467214 (a music video sums up a very modern London)

Leave a Reply

