Goodbye summer, oh! Hang on a minute …

It’s a beautiful day outside today. A bit windy, but still hot. Has summer really gone? Somebody said to me the other day, “Summer finished last Sunday”, the last day of August! All the public swimming pools closed their doors for another year – Sarah was very sad! 😦 It seems a bit strange to me that you can say the summer is over when it is clearly still bloody hot outside. The funniest thing, and I see this every single year, is when I suddenly see some young people wearing wooly hats on the first or second day of September, as if to say, “Look! I’m wearing my wooly hat just so that you know that summer is finished” … sweat running down their brow! 🙂

BEER GARDEN PARTY

Yaen beer garden

Yaen beer garden

So, to celebrate this end of summer, yesterday we had the British Council summer term social event at the Yaen beer garden on top of the Shin-Hankyu building. Around 4pm, I looked north across the city out of my window in Otori and I could only see black clouds. I thought my reputation as the ‘rain man’ was going to be strengthened, and my friend called me to say that floods were forecast in Osaka. What a load of rubbish! The sun came out again and between 60 and 70 staff, students, friends and family came along for a relaxing and fun evening. Though it was slightly sweaty until the overhead covers were removed – to small cheers from various tables in our area!

Director Steve finally stood to make his speech and those who weren't listening to Robert C or watching the baseball quickly looked away!

Director Steve finally stood to make his speech and those who weren't listening to Robert C or watching the baseball quickly looked away!

A big thanks to all who came along to make it such a good event and sorry to those of you who tried to give my little girl a cuddle, yesterday was papa no hi for Irie-chan. After a four-hour dakko, my arm feels dead today and I was so hot carrying her all the time and sitting next to the yaki-niku bbq! My face even looks red on a black and white photo! 🙂

honToni atsui ... holding Irie-chan!

honToni atsui ... holding Irie-chan!

But she was happy and had a good time, as did Hugo, my little boy, who some people commented looks like a TV talent called ‘Wens’ – I have no idea who they are talking about. Can somebody send me a picture?

Wens (?), aka Hugo, and the boys enjoy some DS Mario fun with their beer!

Wens (?), aka Hugo, and the boys enjoy some DS Mario fun with their beer!

He was too excited all day and didn’t have his afternoon nap, so he was a bit sleepy by 8.30pm. Or maybe he was just pretending so that we could leave and he could start playing Super Mario on the train, certainly I have never seen him so keen and helpful to pack up his little sister’s bag.

Anyway, I took a few photos, and some other people took a few photos. If you have any better ones, please send them and I will post them for everyone to see.

Cheers for now and thanks again for coming!

This entry was posted in social events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goodbye summer, oh! Hang on a minute …

  1. curly hair says:

    oh i wanted to go there!!!!
    i could see u had a great day and ur children are sooooo cute!!!!!

  2. tonybrace says:

    @curly hair

    thank you very much … next time eh?

  3. Takashi says:

    I wanted to go BBQ!!
    At that day I had to sell my car and I was not able to make it.

    Everyone looks very happy and I want to meet your cute children.

    You can check “Uents”

Leave a Reply

