Animal magic!

Hello everyone!

Welcome to my new blog which I am setting up just to answer your questions.

I was trying to find a suitable photo for the pages, and I didn’t really know what to choose. Then I found this one of the elephant having his shower. I took this photo last week (end of June) when I took my four-year old son, Hugo, to Tennoji zoo. I don’t really like zoos actually, I don’t like the way that some of the animals look so sad in their cages. However, although the big cats such as the leopard and the jaguar looked really unhappy in their small spaces, other animals, like the giraffes and zebras, seemed really happy and had lots of space to wander around. Even the hippopotamus looked happy in his big tank of water while he had his back scratched and was fed his lunch. When I saw the zoo keeper giving the elephant a shower and scrubbing his back, I thought that his job was similar to mine.

Of course I don’t mean that the British Council is a zoo! That would be silly. What I mean is that all students have different needs that have to be taken care of, and it is the responsibility of the teacher to help each student with their problems and to give them the best opportunity of being successful in their study. That can be quite difficult when you have a group of learners who all have different needs, different learning styles and different strong and weak points in their language ability – some students might be good at grammar, some good at using vocabulary and others may have strong listening skills but be very poor at writing. Teachers DO try to give each student individual attention in the classroom, but more often we have to try and please all the group as much as we can.

So this blog can help to give you more individual attention. If you post a question, I will try and answer it to help you with your study, or understanding of English or UK culture, for example. I am not superhuman and don’t claim to know everything, but what I will do is try and answer your questions as honestly as I can. If I don’t know the answer to any of your qquestions, I promise I will try and find out!

This entry was posted in news and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Animal magic!

  1. TO says:

    Tony
    Your blog is great! The elephant looks happy taking a shower. That is a nice picture and symbolizes your attitude toward English language teaching. You’re trying very hard to improve the English abilities of Japanese people. I’m very impressed with your idea and attitude as an English teacher. I respect you. I think I should imitate you. Thanks to you, this blog can be a very helpful opprtinity for me as an distant learner to brush up my English. Looing forward to your next one.
    TO

Leave a Reply

